Skip to main content
Main Logo for Providence College
Site Home> Africa & The Middle East

Africa & The Middle East

Dr. Ruth Ben-Artzi Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
rbenartz@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: The Middle East

Dr. Joan R Branham Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Art
Associate Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences
jbranham@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Late-Antique and Medieval Jewish and Christian Art and Architecture, the Jerusalem Temple

Dr. Holly T Coolman Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Theology
hcoolman@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Christian theologies of Judaism, Jewish-Christian Relations

Dr. Matthew J Dowling Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of History
Assistant Chair of History
mdowling@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: French Colonialism

Dr. Matteo DiGiovanni
Assistant Professor
Department of Philosophy
mdigiov2@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Medieval Arabic Philosophy and Classical Arabic Textual Studies

Dr. Vefa Erginbas
Assistant Professor
Department of History
erginbas@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Early Modern Ottoman Empire Modern, Turkish History of the Middle East

Dr. Sandra T Keating Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Theology
skeating@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Christian-Muslim Relations

Dr. Natoschia Scruggs
Assistant Professor
Department of Global Studies
nscruggs@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: The African Diaspora

Dr. Thomas F Strasser Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Art
tstrasse@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: From Abraham to Ramses: The art and archaeology of ancient Iraq & Egypt

Dr. Arthur P Urbano Jr., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Theology
aurbano@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Early Christianity, Jewish-Christian relations

Dr. Fatma Gizem Zencirci
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
fzencirc@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Middle East Politics