Site Home > Europe

Europe

Reverend John E Allard O.P., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Theology
jallard@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Dominican spirituality during the medieval and renaissance periods, especially the work of the Dominican friars in the city of Florence during the 1400s

Dr. Nuria Alonso-Garcia Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Global Studies
Department Chair for Global Studies
nalonsog@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Spanish Language

Dr. Christopher Arroyo Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Philosophy
carroyo@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Kant’s moral philosophy

Dr. Robert J Barry Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Theology
rbarry@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: The thought of Thomas Aquinas on the question of evil and hope

Dr. James C Beaver
Visiting Assistant Professor
Department of English
jbeaver@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Renaissance Literature

Alice Beckwith
Professor Emeritus
Department of Art
abeckwth@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Italian, French, and British art and architectures of the fifteenth to the early twentieth century

Dr. Eric D Bennett Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of English
ebennet4@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Cold War History

Christopher M Berard
Visiting Assistant Professor
Department of English
cberard2@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Arthurian and Chivalric Literature, Medieval English Chronicles, Medieval and Early Modern English Political Culture

Dr. Douglas W Blum Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Political Science
dougblum@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Russia

Dr. Stephanie P Boeninger Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of English
sboening@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: 20th century British & postcolonial literature

Dr. Elizabeth A Bridgham Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of English
bridgham@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: 19th century British Lit & Culture, Charles Dickens, Anthony Trollope, Elizabeth Gaskell, British Lit& Film

Dr. Giuseppe Butera Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Philosophy
gbutera@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Thomistic Virtue Ethics, Thomistic Philosophical Psychology, Thomistic Natural Law Theory

Dr. Alison Caplan Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Foreign Language Studies
Department Chair of Languages
acaplan@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: History and literature of medieval and early modern Spain

Dr. Paul Crenshaw Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Art
paul.crenshaw@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Italian Renaissance Art, Baroque Art, Dutch art of the seventeenth century, Rembrandt van Rijn

Dr. Matthew C Cuddeback Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Philosophy
mcuddeba@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Plato, Aristotle, Augustine, and Thomas Aquinas

Dr. Edmund Dain Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Philosophy
edain@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Wittgenstein

Dr. Matthew J Dowling Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of History
Assistant Chair of History
mdowling@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Modern France

Dr. Vefa Erginbas
Assistant Professor
Department of History
erginbas@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Early Modern Ottoman Empire Modern, Turkish History of the Middle East

Dr. Cyrielle M Faivre
Assistant Professor
Department of Foreign Language Studies
cfaivre@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Nineteenth-Century French Literature and Culture

Dr. Nathan D Germain
Visiting Assistant Professor
Department of Foreign Language Studies
ngermain@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: 19th Century French Literature, 20th and 21st Century French and Francophone Literature

Dr. Paul L Gondreau
Professor
Department of Theology
gondreau@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: The thought of St. Thomas Aquinas

Dr. Catherine Gordon Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Music
cgordon@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Baroque performance practice

Richard Grace
Professor Emeritus
Department of History
rjgrace@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Britain and the Empire

Dr. Bruce E Graver Ph.D.
Professor
Department of English
beg@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: British Romanticism, William Wordsworth, the Classical Tradition, British Landscape Paintings and Drawings

Dr. Robin J Greene
Associate Professor
Department of History
rgreene2@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Hellenistic poetry, Greek historiography

Dr. Thomas W Grzebien III, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of History
grzebien@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Medieval Europe

Dr. Margaret Healy-Varley Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of English
mhealeyva@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Medieval Literature

Dr. Russell M Hillier Ph. D
Professor
Department of English
rhillier@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: British Renaissance Literature, including John Milton, William Shakespeare, George Herbert, John Donne, and Edmund Spenser

Dr. Karen A Holland Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of History
kholland@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Early Modern Europe, Women and Gender in Ireland

Bing Huang
Assistant Professor
Department of Art
bhuang@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Italian Baroque Art, East Asia and Europe Culture Exchange

Dr. Jennifer G Illuzzi Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of History
jilluzz1@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Modern European History, Romani populations, Germany, Italy

Dr. Ana C Iraheta
Assistant Professor
Department of Foreign Language Studies
airaheta@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Spanish Intonation

Dr. Anthony K Jensen
Professor
Department of Philosophy
Assistant Chair of Philosophy
ajensen2@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Late modern philosophy (esp. Goethe, Nietzsche, Schopenhauer, Neo-Kantianism), Ancient philosophy (esp. Pre-Socratic and Hellenistic), epistemology, philosophy of history, modern Germany, history of classical philology

Dr. Deborah J Johnson Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Art
doctorj@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: European Art since 1945

Dr. James F Keating Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Theology
jkeating@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Papacy

Dr. Colin G King
Associate Professor
Department of Philosophy
cking7@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Ancient philosophy and science (particularly Plato, Aristotle, and the Peripatos)

Dr. John M Lawless Ph. D.
Assistant Professor
Department of History
jlawless@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Ancient Greece

Dr. Patricia M Lawlor Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Foreign Language Studies
pmlawlor@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Nineteenth-century French literature, French culture

Dr. Ian C Levy Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Theology
Director of Graduate Theology
ilevy@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Medieval and Reformation Theology

Dr. Stephen J Lynch Ph.D.
Professor
Department of English
Director of the Liberal Arts Honors Program
sjlynch@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Shakespeare, Renaissance Literature

Dr. Patrick J Macfarlane Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Philosophy
pmacfarl@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Ancient Philosophy, Philosophy of Aristotle

Dr. Timothy A Mahoney
Associate Professor
Department of Philosophy
tmahoney@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Ancient Philosophy, especially Plato

Dr. Margaret M Manchester Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of History
mmanch@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Eastern European foreign policy

Dr. John B Margenot III, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Foreign Language Studies
jmargeno@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Modern Spanish Literature

Dr. Alexander N Moffett Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of English
Director of DWC Program
amoffett@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: British and Irish Modernism, 20th Century British Novel

Dr. Darra D Mulderry Ph.D.
Visiting Faculty
Department of History
Associate Dir CEL/Dir Nat’l & Int’l Center for Engaged Learning
mulderry@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Modern European Intellectual History

Dr. Paul F O’Malley
Assistant Professor
Department of History
pomalley@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Modern Ireland, 19th century Europe

Rev. David T Orique O.P., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of History
dorique@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Spanish and Portuguese, contact, conquest, and colonization of America.

Dr. Mark S Pedretti
Assistant Professor
Department of English
mpedrett@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Cold War Culture & History

Paul Quinlan
Professor Emeritus
Department of History
pquinlan@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Modern Russia, Modern Eastern Europe

Ian Randall
Visiting Professor
Department of Art
Ian_Randall@brown.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Medieval Art History

Dr. Constance M Rousseau Ph.D.
Professor
Department of History
rousseau@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Medieval History, Italian Renaissance History, 11th-13th Centuries, Medieval Canon Law

Dr. John T Scanlan Ph.D.
Professor
Department of English
hambone@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Eighteenth-century British Literature, Law and Literature in Eighteenth-Century London

Reverend Brian Shanley O.P., Ph.D.
President
Department of Philosophy
bshanley@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Thomas Aquinas

Dr. Raymond L Sickinger Ph.D.
Professor
Department of History
rsicking@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Development of Western Civilization, Germany in the era of World War II, Frederic Ozanam

Dr. Daria E Spezzano
Associate Professor
Department of Theology
dspezzan@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Theology of Thomas Aquinas

Dr. Thomas F Strasser Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Art
tstrasse@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Art of the Ancient Classical World, Art and the Homeric World

Dr. Robert E Stretter Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of English
rstrette@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Medieval English Literature, Chaucer

Dr. Giacomo Striuli Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Foreign Language Studies
giacomo@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: 20th century Italian literature, culture and cinema

Reverend N J Torchia O.P., Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Philosophy
jtorchia@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Philosophy of St. Augustine, Neoplatonism, later Greek and early Medieval Philosophy

Reverend John C Vidmar O.P.
Associate Professor
Department of History
jvidmar@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: The Popes, the Inquisition, the Reformation

Jonathan M Wales
Visiting Instructor of DWC
Department of History
jpaquet4@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: European Intellectual History, Modern British History, Modern German History

Dr. Benjamin S Yost Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Philosophy
byost1@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Kant’s practical philosophy, Levinas

Dr. Fatma Gizem Zencirci
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
fzencirc@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Turkey