Skip to main content
Main Logo for Providence College
Site Home> North America

North America

Reverend John E Allard O.P., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Theology
jallard@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: The intersection between spirituality and social criticism, as found in the writings of Dorothy Day and the Trappist monk, Thomas Merton

Dr. Edward E Andrews Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of History
eandrews@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Early American Colonial and Atlantic World

Alice Beckwith
Professor Emeritus
Department of Art
abeckwth@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: North American art and architectures

Dr. Eric D Bennett Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of English
Program Director of American Studies
ebennet4@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: 20th Century American Fiction & Poetry, Cold War History

Dr. Iain L Bernhoft
Visiting Assistant Professor
Department of English
ibernhof@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: American Literature

Dr. Patrick H Breen Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of History
pbreen@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: American Ante-Bellum, Slavery, Nat Turner

Richard deNiord
Professor
Department of English
cdeniord@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Contemporary American Poetry

Dr. Suzanne J Fournier Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of English
Associate Director of the Liberal Arts Honors Program
fournier@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: American Literature

Dr. Matthew P Guardino
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
mguardin@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: American politics and policy issues

Dr. Paul E Herron
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
pherron@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: American Constitutional Development, Southern Politics, Criminal Law, Civil Liberties, and American Political History

Dr. Russell M Hillier Ph.D.
Professor
Department of English
rhillier@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Cormac McCarthy

Dr. Deborah J Johnson Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Art
doctorj@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: American art since 1945, American Art, African American Artists

Dr. Jeffrey A Johnson Ph.D.
Professor
Department of History
Director of Graduate History
jjohns22@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Gilded Age and Progressive Era, American West

Dr. Margaret M Manchester Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of History
mmanch@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: US Diplomatic History

Dr. Mintzi A Martinez-Rivera
Assistant Professor
Department of Sociology
mmarti28@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: The P’urhépecha culture of Michoacán, México, the indigenous rock movement in Mexico

Dr. Edgar Mejia Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Foreign Language Studies
emejia@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: 19th and 20th Spanish American Literature, Spanish American Cultural Studies

Dr. Vance G Morgan Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Philosophy
thorsen@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: American philosophy

Dr. Darra D Mulderry Ph.D.
Visiting Faculty
Department of History
Associate Dir CEL/Dir Nat’l & Int’l Center for Engaged Learning
mulderry@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Modern American Intellectual History, US Catholic History

Dr. Sharon A Murphy Ph.D.
Professor
Department of History
smurph13@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: 19th century Social, Economic, and Business history, financial history, history of capitalism

Dr. Adam S Myers
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
ameyers2@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: State politics, political parties, political geography, federalism, American political development

Dr. Charlotte G O’Kelly Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Sociology
cokelly@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Teaches a class on African American Women

Dr. Rene Alexander Orquiza
Assistant Professor
Department of History
rorquiza@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: 20th century US cultural history; Immigration history; Asian American Studies

Dr. Mark S Pedretti
Assistant Professor
Department of English
mpedrett@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Cold War Culture & History

Dr. Steven C Smith
Assistant Professor
Department of History
ssmith32@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: The American Revolution, the Early American Republic, history of the book in the US, the history of New York

Dr. Tuire M Valkeakari Ph.D.
Professor
Department of English
tvalkeak@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Black Anglophone literature, especially African American and autobiography, American literature, global/postcolonial literature, African American culture and history

Reverend John C Vidmar O.P.
Associate Professor
Department of History
jvidmar@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: American Dominican History

Dr. Adrian C Weimer Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of History
aweimer@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Colonial America

Dr. Chun Ye
Assistant Professor
Department of English
cye@providence.edu
Area(s) of Expertise: Modern and contemporary American Literature, Asian American Literature